Movies Worth Seeing in 2013

As you can see from the only post I left on here, I did this same list a year ago.

The sad part? I only saw THREE of the movies that came out last year. It’s a very sad life I lead when I can’t keep up with the times.

But let’s try this again, shall we? I can’t guarantee that I’ll actually see them, but you bet your bum that I’ll make an effort. If they’re listed here, it means I have a general interest in the movie… and that’s a start, isn’t it? Haha!

Okay, let’s see what we’ve got for 2013…

  1. Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (I’ll admit, it’s mostly for Jeremy Renner)
  2. Movie 43
  3. Warm Bodies
  4. Side Effects
  5. Safe Haven (can’t leave Nicholas Sparks off my list! haha)
  6. Jack the Giant Slayer
  7. Oz: The Great and Powerful
  8. The Host (though I should probably read the book first, huh?)
  9. Iron Man 3
  10. About Time
  11. The Great Gatsby (wasn’t this supposed to come out in 2012?)
  12. Star Trek Into Darkness
  13. Epic
  14. Fast and Furious 6
  15. Much Ado About Nothing (It’s a Joss Whedon film, so it’s a given)
  16. Man of Steel (I should see the other Superman movies, to see why it needs another reboot)
  17. Monsters University
  18. Despicable Me 2
  19. R.I.P.D.
  20. The Wolverine
  21. 300: Rise of an Empire
  22. Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters
  23. The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones
  24. Sin City: A Dame to Kill For
  25. Thor: The Dark World
  26. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (I just finished the book, so I’m definitely stoked for this one!)
  27. Frozen
  28. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

A lot of prequels, sequels, or other continuations to movies this upcoming year. What I can’t stand, however, are the remakes, of which there are many in 2013 (like, does Carrie or Evil Dead really need to be redone? I think not). I’m not surprised though; it seems Hollywood can’t seem to come up with very many originals these days. I’m a sucker for movies in a series, as you’ve probably seen above. But remakes, especially unnecessary ones, are a bit annoying.

What movies are you looking forward to this year? Any thoughts about the upcoming year of movies?

Each year, I give myself the goal of watching 50 new movies I haven’t seen before, though I’ve extended that to include movies I may have seen part of before and have now seen completely from start to finish. Hopefully I’ll be able to add a few of these, and those I have yet to see from 2012, to my list this upcoming year. I know the pile of movies I’ve recently purchased, and the others I want to get my hands on, will definitely aid in my endeavors.

I’m such a ridiculous cinephile…

Leave a Reply

